USA Rugby Announces New Collegiate Premier Division Schedule

USA Rugby recently announced the schedule for the nation’s new Collegiate Division I Premier Schedule, expected to launch in early March 2011.  The schedule, consisting of some of the top collegiate teams in America – and of course the University of California, essentially the best collegiate team (and better than many club teams) in the nation.

This is something the U.S. has needed for a while now, there have only been a handful of strong teams that have feasted on other teams in their local unions for too long.  Now by lumping together most of the best college teams in a Premier Division and getting them to play against each other beyond the National Championship tournament, where the eventual winner might only play a handful of the top teams.

The teams facing off include:

Pacific Conference

  • University of California
  • Cal Poly – San Luis Obispo
  • Central Washington
  • San Diego State
  • Claremont
  • St. Mary’s
  • U Cal. – Davis
  • UCLA


Western Conference

  • Air Force
  • Arizona
  • Arizona State
  • BYU
  • Colorado
  • Colorado State
  • Utah
  • Wyoming


Mid-South Conference

  • Arkansas State
  • Life University
  • Louisiana State
  • Notre Dame
  • Oklahoma
  • Tennessee
  • Texas A&M

(What, no U Texas here?)


“RugbyEast” Conference

  • Army
  • Dartmouth
  • Delaware
  • Kutztown
  • Navy
  • THE Ohio State
  • Penn State
  • Rutgers

A complete schedule of games can be found at USA Rugby’s main Web site.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s